Students at a convocation ceremony

About UCalgary Social Work


We are among the largest schools of social work in Canada. We have a rich tradition of innovation and leadership in social work education, field education, and transformative research.

Where would you like to go?


Thinking about a career in social work? Check out our programs pages >> Currently a student? Find information here >>

Alumni & Community

Looking to get involved or connected? Find out more about our news, events, field education and career development opportunities here >> 


Looking to find collaborators or to see our research areas? Start here >>

Find somebody

Contacts for faculty and staff across all of our Alberta campus locations. Find someone >>

Territorial Acknowledgement

The University of Calgary both acknowledges and pays tribute to the traditional territories of the peoples of Treaty 7, which include the Blackfoot Confederacy (comprised of the Siksika, the Piikani and the Kainai First Nations), the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Stoney Nakoda (including Chiniki, Bearspaw and Goodstoney First Nations). The City of Calgary is also home to the Métis Nation of Alberta (Districts 5 and 6).

At our Edmonton campus, we acknowledge the Treaty 6 region, the traditional territory of the Cree, and the homelands of the Métis people, (Districts 9, 10 and 11) and the surrounding Métis settlements. 

In our northern Alberta locations, we acknowledge the Indigenous communities of Northern Alberta, including the First Nations of Treaty 8, 4 and 10, and the Métis Nation of Alberta’s northern Métis Districts.

In our southern Alberta locations, we acknowledge the traditional territories of the Blackfoot and the other peoples of the Treaty 7 and 4 regions, and the Métis Nation of Alberta Districts. Our Lethbridge campus, located at the University of Lethbridge, is also home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, District 1.

We are very grateful to Indigenous peoples for the privilege of working, learning and living on these lands.